2022 Squad Numbers

Whitehaven Rugby League head coach Jonty Gorley has today announced his squad numbers for the upcoming 2022 Betfred Championship campaign starting in under four weeks time. 

Haven fans don't have to wait that long however to see their side in action as our first encounter of the year comes in less than two weeks time as the Ike Southward Memorial Fixture returns following the annual pre-season contest between ourselves and Workington Town not taking place in 2021 due to the Covid-19 Pandemic. The fixture will be hosted by Workington at Derwent Park on Sunday 16th January with a 2pm kick off. 

There's been a number of changes in squad numbers for the upcoming campaign following a number of new faces joining the club for this season also following a number of departures and retirements. 

New signing Liam McAvoy replaces retired club captain Marc Shackley in the number 8 shirt following Shackley's decision to retire on medical grounds at the end of 2021. Tom Walker takes the number 10 shirt following Kris Coward's retirement and new signing from Australia Will Evans takes the number 4 shirt previously held by Jesse Joe Parker. 

There's eight new faces in the 2022 squad but there still remains a number of the squad who made the play-offs last season following a remarkable run of form at the end of the league campaign. 

2022 Squad Numbers 

1 Geronimo Doyle

2 Dave Eccleston

3 Chris Taylor

4 Will Evans

5 Andrew Bulman

6 Karl Dixon

7 Nikau Williams

8 Liam McAvoy

9 Callum Phillips

10 Tom Walker

11 Ryan King

12 Liam Cooper

13 Dion Aiye

14 James Newton

15 Connor Holliday

16 Tom Wilkinson

17 Andrew Dawson

18 Guy Graham

19 Jake Moore

20 Jake Bradley

21 Kieran Hudson

22 Josh Martin

23 Alex Bishop

30 Glenn Riley

The club will make an announcement later this week regarding the club captain for the upcoming campaign.